Did I accidentally kill Robert McNamara?

July 6, 2009

[I wrote this in as an update to my self-love post, but really it’s a stand-alone post, so I reproduce it here, slightly modified.]

If ever there was a guy who needed to calibrate his self-love, it was Robert McNamara, the much-vilified defense secretary who was forever tarnished by his role in the Vietnam War. This weekend I re-watched The Fog of War, the Errol Morris documentary in which McNamara very nearly breaks down with regret for his mistakes (see video below).

Today I learn that McNamara has died. By Jenny McCarthy’s logic, I am partially responsible for the death. I regret my involvement. To atone, I will practice forgiveness, starting with McCarthy and McNamara.

Full video here.

One Response to “Did I accidentally kill Robert McNamara?”


  1. […] Did I accidentally kill Robert McNamara? […]


Leave a Reply

