a self-obsessed dude thanks David Foster Wallace

March 15, 2009

 

the guy on the left was in Independence Day

the guy on the left was in Independence Day

Reading the New Yorker profile of David Foster Wallace, I think of those aliens from Independence Day, where when you crack open the exo-skeleton, it’s just a little gooey thing. I then think of passing one of them on the side of the road – I’m in the car with my kids, who ask what happened. I’m like, “Uh, looks like he died for our sins.” Including his own, I think but don’t say. “Now let’s all vow to be a little bit better people.” And then we’re off.

5 Responses to “a self-obsessed dude thanks David Foster Wallace”


  1. I think that profile will stay with me for a while.

    What’d you think of the story that followed it?

  2. JR Says:

    I didn’t explore the rest of the issue. Was it one of his?

  3. John Pavlus Says:

    That profile was amazing (way better than the one Rolling Stone did a few months back) and heartbreaking. The story of his that they included was much more resonant to me after reading the profile – I’m actually a fan more of his nonfic than his fic so I might not have read it at all otherwise.

  4. JR Says:

    Ok, it’s on my list of things to read: http://www.newyorker.com/fiction/features/2009/03/09/090309fi_fiction_wallace?currentPage=all

    Immediate thoughts: I used to believe you didn’t need to know anything about an artist to appreciate their work. Now I’m at least convinced that the two complement each other.


  5. I thought the story in itself was a little bit boring — kind of a failed experiment — but perfect in light of the profile. (Is it crude to say that it gave me a feeling of ‘yes, one could go suicidally insane trying to write this book’?)


Leave a Reply

