I HAVE NO IDEA IF PZ Myers would make one stern father

July 9, 2009

If only Aquaria, some commenter on PZ Myers’s blog, he were more like a stoned farmer.

Mr. Mooney, you seem to have this bizarre notion that anyone here cares what you think, or what you have to offer.

After you spend two chapters essentially telling one of the strongest voices of the pro-science movement that he’s a poopyhead who needs to sit down and shut up, even though he has evidence on your side, do you really think that he or those who think speaking out and up are going to heed what you have to say? To care?

And why–why–don’t you expect the stupid to educate itself, rather than telling people to pat stupid on the head and say, “there, there, I’m sorry if what I said hurt your feelings.” These people are screaming their heads off while smearing feces on the wall. “There there” will not change them. It only enables them, and usually makes them act up even worse.

>> Check out Classic Quote from PZ’s Blog, vs. Classic Quote from RealClimate.

Update: I am a bad journalist today. A commenter points out that PZ Myers did not write the above, unless PZ comments on his own blog under the name Aquaria. Mooney and I should both read more Benedict Carey. My apologies to PZ and anyone who reads this.

24 Responses to “I HAVE NO IDEA IF PZ Myers would make one stern father”

  1. Rieux Says:

    I think if you looked a little closer, you’d see that PZ Myers did not write that.

    And shame on Chris Mooney for misleading you, and goodness-knows-how-many others, on that point.

  2. Matt Penfold Says:

    That is not a quote from PZ.

    It is dishonest of you to claim it is.

    That Mooney was also dishonest does not excuse you. You failed to check the source.;

    The author of that is someone calling themselves Aquaria, and they are commenter on PZ’s blog. Correct attribution is so important don’t you think ?

  3. JR Minkel Says:

    Agh, you’re right. I matched the text but not the name. I’m an idiot. Will rectify.

  4. Big Frank Says:

    Don’t you read the posts that you blog about? You should remove your entire post.

  5. Matt Penfold Says:

    JR Minkel,

    Thank you. Others were fooled as well. I only picked up on it as I know PZ’s style and the quote did not seem to fit it.

    You can delete my earlier comment if you wish.


  6. No, you’re not an idiot. Mooney’s post is the culprit.

  7. giotto Says:

    I’m an idiot. Will rectify.

    You are being too hard on yourself. You merely made the mistake of expecting Chris Mooney to argue in good faith.

  8. JR Minkel Says:

    If my computer weren’t so slow today, I would have checked more carefully.

    The problem is I agree with Mooney’s strategic point against PZ, Coyne etc, although I disagree with the way Mooney makes that point.

  9. Rieux Says:

    I agree with others here that Mooney deserves the lion’s share of the blame.

    Also note the contrast: advised of the misattribution, you have amended your post and expressed the understandable facepalm sentiment. Mooney is (at present) standing firm. Point, you.

  10. Rieux Says:

    And one has to love your all-caps addition to the post title.

    I believe there are a small number of people who could be considered authorities on the question….

  11. JR Minkel Says:

    Heh, thanks.

    The fact that neither Mooney nor I was clued in by “one of the strongest voices of the pro-science movement” says something amusing. As does the fact that it was uttered in the first place.

  12. JR Minkel Says:

    And @Matt Penfold:

    Respect being respect, I would advise against telling people you’ve never met what to do with their blogs. PZ’s reputation is hardly going to be tarnished by the likes of me, and I don’t delete a damn thing at your request.

    Thanks,
    JR Minkel

  13. Jennifer B. Phillips Says:

    WTF? Matt Penfolds said “You can delete my earlier comment [alerting you to the misattribution] if you wish”. How does that merit such a harsh response?

  14. JR Minkel Says:

    @Jennifer:

    Matt’s comments came off as hot-headed (1st comment) and entitled (2nd comment). He is a guest on this blog, just as I am a guest in a larger conversation.

  15. JR Minkel Says:

    My other commenters were uniformly respectful and generous in handling my error, which I very much appreciated.

  16. Jennifer B. Phillips Says:

    um…okay:

    Big Frank Says:

    July 9, 2009 at 7:06 pm
    Don’t you read the posts that you blog about? You should remove your entire post.

  17. JR Minkel Says:

    Jeez, long day. Throw @Big Frank in there, too.

    Cool?

  18. JR Minkel Says:

    And by “Jeez, long day,” I meant, “You’re right. My bad #2 today on this blog.”

    To clarify why I got pissed: Discourse on blogs matters to me. I need to be careful and accurate in my blogging, and we all need to be careful and respectful in how we talk to each other online.

  19. JR Minkel Says:

    That said, I probably overreacted about Matt Penfold. He got excited. I understand.

    I’m going to shut up now. :)

  20. Thaddeus Lie Says:

    Matt’s 2nd comment sounds more like a request/suggestion (“you can … if you wish”) than an entitlement to me.

  21. Roya Says:

    Hey, all this fairly amusing back-and-forth led me to look up PZ Myers, whom i had never heard of, on wikipedia, where he is characterized as having become “well-known for [his] writing style (characterized by sarcasm) and criticism of intelligent design and creationism.” Hmmm, sounds like someone i know. . . .

  22. Aquaria Says:

    I HAVE NO IDEA IF PZ Myers would make one stern father
    July 9, 2009
    If only Aquaria, some commenter on PZ Myers’s blog, he were more like a stoned farmer.

    I don’t do drugs.

    I’m not a farmer.

    Finally, I’m a woman, and a mom. My kid is smart, fair and no-nonsense. Just like I raised him to be. For the record, one doesn’t hold children to the same standards as adults; however, to have a child become a sensible adult, a parent must be as honest and realistic with them as possible in a way appropriate for their ages. The duty of a parent is to prepare children to become sensible adults.

    If you had a brain, you would know that.

  23. Aquaria Says:

    And funny for you to whine about blog discourses and civility, yet make so many false, defamatory assumptions about me.

    Jackass.


  24. [...] am about oversharing, sticking my foot in my mouth, backpedaling like a spineless jerk, and then loathing myself for not standing my [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

